DOCJT Announces Latest Graduates from Basic Training

RICHMOND, Ky. – Law enforcement officers from 15 agencies across the state graduated Friday from basic training at the Kentucky Department of Criminal Justice Training.
The 27 officers of Class 451 completed 18 weeks of training, which consisted of nearly 770 hours of recruit-level-officer academy instruction. Major training areas included homeland security, law offenses and procedures, vehicle operations, firearms, investigations, first aid/CPR, patrol procedures, orientation for new law enforcement families and mechanics of arrest, restraint and control. 
Basic training is mandatory for Kentucky law enforcement officers who are required to comply with the state’s Peace Officer Professional Standards Act of 1998. The Department of Criminal Justice Training provides basic training for city and county police officers, sheriffs’ deputies, university police, airport police and others. 
The agency also provides in-service and leadership training for Kentucky law enforcement officers and public safety dispatch training.
The Department of Criminal Justice Training is a state agency located on Eastern Kentucky University’s campus. The agency is the first in the nation to be accredited under the Commission on Accreditation for Law Enforcement Agencies’ public safety training program designation. DOCJT also earned accredited through the International Association for Continuing Education and Training in 2013 – making it the nation’s only law enforcement training academy to achieve dual accreditation by two independent accrediting organizations.
Class 451* graduates and their agencies are:
Justin D. Auton, Erlanger Police Department
Matthew S. Blackwell, Covington Police Department
John J. Coulter, Covington Police Department
Daniel J. Merrell, Covington Police Department
Jesse J. Wenning, Covington Police Department
Timothy R. Bryant, Nicholasville Police Department
Keith W. Lajoie, Nicholasville Police Department
Jacob R. Shepherd, Nicholasville Police Department
Timothy J. Burnett, Simpson County Sheriff Office
Joshua D. Burris, Elizabethtown Police Department
Ronald D. Caffee, Elizabethtown Police Department
Ryan Slaubaugh, Elizabethtown Police Department
Jonathan L. Collins, Independence Police Department
Rachel A. Cook, Eastern Kentucky University Police Department
Timothy O. Gunn, Eastern Kentucky University Police Department
Daniel E. Slone, Eastern Kentucky University Police Department
Kenneth M. Corman, Henderson Police Department
Daniel P. Pennaman, Henderson Police Department
Matthew B. Irvin, Western Kentucky Police Department
Kenneth B. Isaac, Salyersville Police Department
Jeremiah M. Watson, Salyersville Police Department
Jack E. Lakes, Jackson County Police Department
Eric McCallister, Sturgis Police Department
Lee V. Morris, University of Kentucky Police Department
Holly L. Williams, University of Kentucky Police Department
Daniel J. Potts, Taylor Mill Police Department
Tyler M. Wallace, Morehead Police Department