DOCJT Announces Latest Graduates from Basic Training

RICHMOND, Ky. – Law enforcement officers from 18 agencies across the state graduated today from basic training at the Kentucky Department of Criminal Justice Training.
The 27 officers of Class 456 completed 18 weeks of training, which consisted of nearly 770 hours of recruit-level-officer academy instruction. Major training areas included homeland security, law offenses and procedures, vehicle operations, firearms, investigations, first aid/CPR, patrol procedures, orientation for new law enforcement families and mechanics of arrest, restraint and control. 
Basic training is mandatory for Kentucky law enforcement officers who are required to comply with the state’s Peace Officer Professional Standards Act of 1998. The Department of Criminal Justice Training provides basic training for city and county police officers, sheriffs’ deputies, university police, airport police and others. 

The agency also provides in-service and leadership training for Kentucky law enforcement officers and public safety dispatch training.

The Department of Criminal Justice Training is a state agency located on Eastern Kentucky University’s campus. The agency is the first in the nation to be accredited under the Commission on Accreditation for Law Enforcement Agencies’ public safety training program designation. DOCJT also earned accredited through the International Association for Continuing Education and Training in 2013 – making it the nation’s only law enforcement training academy to achieve dual accreditation by two independent accrediting organizations.

Class 456* graduates and their agencies are:
Garrett C. Smith, Beaver Dam Police Department
Joseph W. Dixon III, Bellefonte Police Department
William C. Bevill, Brandenburg Police Department
Anthony R. Seals, Cincinnati/N. KY Airport Police Department
Christopher D. McGreevy, Cincinnati/N. KY Airport Police Department
Joshua Denny, Covington Police Department
Lewis Crump, Cynthiana Police Department
Justin F. Jett, Cynthiana Police Department
Matthew C. Cravens, Henry County Sheriff’s Office
Matthew Buis, Hopkinsville Police Department
James Legaspi, Hopkinsville Police Department
Samantha M. Moore, Hopkinsville Police Department
Matthew A. Carman, Jeffersontown Police Department
Trevor Rohe, Kenton County Police Department
Daniel R. Napier, Lancaster Police Department
Colten Linville, Mason County Sheriff’s Office
Anna M. Wicker, Murray Police Department
Chris R. Fike, Murray State University Police Department
Doniel Helton, Mt. Vernon Police Department
Nicholas L. Eskridge, Ohio County Sheriff’s Office
Zachary Price, Paducah Police Department
Kevin Wilson, Paducah Police Department
James L. Miller, Pioneer Village Police Department
Ralph Croyle, University of Kentucky Police Department
Andrew Humphries, University of Kentucky Police Department
Ryan Johnson, University of Kentucky Police Department
Ramon A. Torres, University of Kentucky Police Department