Several Graduate Latest KDOCJT's Police Supervision Course

RICHMOND, Ky. – Law enforcement officers from 20 agencies across the commonwealth were recognized at a graduation ceremony today for completing the Kentucky Department of Criminal Justice Training’s Academy of Police Supervision.
APS, also called the sergeant’s academy, is a three-week, 120-hour training program targeted for newly promoted sergeants or officers who are on their agency’s promotion list to become sergeants. 
While in APS, students participate in classes focusing on the role of a supervisor, as well as leadership, resolving conflict, managing diversity, monitoring officer performance, professional image, legal issues for supervisors, ethics, interpersonal communication, effective written communication, making decisions, solving problems, managing critical incidents, public speaking, emotional survival, budgeting, media relations and others.
The graduating class is the 51st to complete APS since the program began in 2003. 
DOCJT Leadership Training Instructor Walt Tangel served as guest speaker.
Alexandria Police Sgt. Timothy Vinson  served as class speaker.
APS is a stepping stone to DOCJT’s Kentucky Leadership Institute, which consists of a series of three progressive leadership courses aimed at developing and shaping future and current leaders in law enforcement agencies across the commonwealth.
The Department of Criminal Justice Training is a state agency located on Eastern Kentucky University’s campus. The agency is accredited by the Commission on Accreditation for Law Enforcement Agencies and was the first accredited public safety-training program in the nation. In 2006, the academy also became the first law enforcement-training academy in the nation to be designated as a CALEA flagship agency.
APS 49 graduates and their agencies are:
Timothy E. Abell, Lebanon Police Department
Tim R. Baker, Whitley County Sheriff’s Office
Ryan Cameron Burnam, Bowling Green Police Department
Brian L. Blackburn, Cincinnati/ Northern Kentucky Int. Airport Police Department
Dustin S. Clem, Boyle County Sheriff’s Office
Jacklyn Colwell Cohn, University of Louisville Police Department
Jeremy W. Coleman, Louisville Metro Police Department
Gary W. Crump II, Georgetown Police Department
Kevin R. Drohan, Newport Police Department
Wade C. Farley, Cincinnati/ Northern Kentucky Int. Airport Police Department
John W. Lancaster II, Guthrie Police Department
Larry L. Oliver, Jessamine County Sheriff’s Office
Michael L. Riddle, Pikeville Police Department
Charles W. Robinson III, Louisville Metro Police Department
Daniel W. Schlernitzauer, Jessamine County Sheriff’s Office
Roger A. Solomon, Franklin Police Department
Jarrod R. Steele, Glasgow Police Department
Timothy L. Vinson, Alexandria Police Department
Kenneth A. Waters, Bullitt County Sheriff’s Office
Troy G. Young, Russell Springs Police Department